post university

Things you’re doing that are pissing people off who work in retail 

From working in retail for atleast 3 years, I’ve come across so so sooo many things that bug me and most of the people that I work with. Please. Just don’t!

  • ‘Can I just grab a few things?’ She says as she spends 5 minutes deciding over normal or free range with an 11 person queue behind her 
  • Putting cash on the till rather than my outstretched hand…why.
  • Touching the staff. It sounds weird but, don’t clamp your hand around my wrist. I don’t think anyone appreciates strangers grabbing them
  • Being really cocky and rude when you’re not a regular – the regulars/locals come to gain a solid friendliness with the staff and often build banter. What not to do is to be all ‘Alright, get me some fags’ when I don’t know you nor your regular shopping 
  • Demanding me to do something – be polite. I’m not a slave. 
  • Kicking off because I won’t break the law – if you’re a smoker, pretty sure you know the rules on the cupboards being opened etc etc – why have a hissy fit? It’s not gonna make me do it, is it?
  • Throwing your bags at me – I’m actually not contracted to pack for you, I do it out of convenience/wasting time/kindness. So if you throw stuff at me aggressively, I’m gonna put it on top of your shopping and walk away as soon as you’ve paid 🙏🏽
  • Telling me to smile – that is literally instantly rude and aggressive and it’s 7am, I’ve just woken. Do you smile at 7am? 
  • Telling me that stuff is too expensive – I know but sadly – I can’t do anything about it. Sorry 👌🏼
Leave a Reply

